Its been a while since I last posted. For those subscribed or frequently looking in to see the activity, I do apologize. However, I do bring good news.

I guess you could say that I am the positional leader of the aviation chapel band at college. I say positional not because I am only here for the sake of being in charge, but more because I am trying to embrace a ‘displaced leadership’ philosophy. I want others to be in charge of important aspects of the ministry. This is not to take the load off of me, but to develop the sense of ownership, and really keep everyone ‘in the know’ at all times. This is a team, after all.

I know full well that I am incapable of leading this team by my own efforts. My strength has to come from God, but also from the talents of the others around me. I’ve been going through the book “The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership” again, only this time it is the 10th anniversary edition. Revised and updated, this book is an absolute gem and must-have for anyone. In it, among countless bits of valuable advice, John Maxwell notes that the leader’s capability is affected greatly by your inner circle. Since, in this case, the group is so small (only 6 or 7 people at most), everyone counts as part of the inner circle here. So this is the good news…

I had a discussion with all of those available about what we wanted the semester and continuing ministry to look like, and the kinds of ethics we wanted to promote. One of the points I made very quickly was that I wanted everyone to develop a strong sense of musicianship (learning the roles of everyone in a band, learning to listen to one another and hear song dynamics), and really grow in their spiritual lives as they relate to musical worship. Of course, these aren’t the end-all goals of the ministry. They are, however, critical skills for this inner circle to be keen on in order for the ministry to function as it should. To my great delight, those were very well received goals, and the team in general is excited to get the ball rolling and really work as a group of leaders to make a difference in people’s lives. This is a ministry that was sorely needed in our student body, and without the aforementioned excitement of the team, I would be useless.

So now I have a team of excited, talented musicians ready to get out there and use their talents for God, and carve a new path for a brand new ministry. I am really excited for another reason too, though. This has been my first chance in a while to lead people in this way. My last real opportunity was in my days of the Air Cadet program. While fun and rewarding, the politics really got to me, and I never felt like I could utilize a lot of the things I had learned through the program because of it. Here, I am able, with the help of others, to start something new that can impact people’s lives in an awesome way. Beyond that, I’ve learned a lot since my days of cadets. Mixing the hard leadership skills there with a renewed grasp of the concept of character has really provided an excellent blend, and I’m excited to see it in action.

I’ll finish with a direct quote from John Maxwell’s book. “Leaders touch a heart before they ask for a hand.”

