Had practice tonight with the church worship team. One of the songs we played was new to me (not to others…but hey, I’m a new guy), and it was called I Am Free. The version we had I think was done by the Newsboys.

Anyways, the chorus goes like this:

I am free to run (I am free to run)
I am free to dance (I am free to dance)
I am free to live for You (I am free to live for You)
I am free (I am free)
I am free (I am free)

This is one of those very powerful songs for a couple of reasons. First and foremost, it harnesses the power of proclamation. Simply by saying some things aloud, you can reinforce certain thoughts. By singing out “I am free”, you make a declaration that you are indeed free. You are taking a stand. The tongue is a powerful tool in this way, and speaking out against imprisonment gets you one step closer to actually being free.

Another reason it is powerful as a song is because they implement the use of an echo for the congregation to sing back. Sometimes the ‘repeat after me’ idea in a church setting can be touchy for some people. I understand where you are coming from. However, I put my occasional discomfort with the idea aside with a song like this. I know that freedom is Biblical, and there should be no hindrance in proclaiming it. Having repetition in this song encourages the Church to take ownership of the gift of freedom, and actually exercise it. While we were practicing, practically everyone (which means 9 guys) was more animated than they normally would be. To see guys really singing their hearts out, jumping in circles and dancing during a practice was pretty awesome. There was a definite sense of freedom, as we were all proclaiming it with all our might.

Another good example of a song like this is “Freedom Reigns”. When you sing “Freedom reigns in this place”, you make no room for anything else except that freedom.

All of this to say: do not underestimate the power of the spoken word. “I Am Free” gives me goosebumps because I know the words in it are true. So next time you get a chance to proclaim the truth in your church, give the congregation a few extra decibels to encourage them as well. You are free!

