Last night, I and a group of guys were discussing a heavy topic, which was the self-existence of God.

For the uninitiated, a classical verse that depicts this notion is Exodus 3:14. “God said to Moses, ‘I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.”” This verse says so many things about God’s character. In fact, it says pretty well everything!

When someone wants to know something about me, I could just say “I am who I am.” However, we all know that there is a reason I am who I am today. I owe my existence and the parameters thereof to the Creator. When God says it, there are no provisos like that. He owes His existence to nothing, since He is beyond beginnings and endings. In the same way as this idea describes God’s eternal nature, it is also the only real explanation for everything God has done and will do.

For instance, in the book of Job (which we actually discussed today as a devotional), we see that Job eventually gets to a point where he is asking “Why, God? Why have you done this to me?” Job was the holiest man on the planet at the time, bar none. You would think that when he asked God for a direct answer, he ought to get one. However, God responded with no fewer than 81 questions, all of them rhetorical (thank you Dallas for counting). Questions like “Where were you when the foundation of the earth was laid?” How is a guy to answer that? Through these questions, it was clear that God was telling Job that He was indeed the great I AM. For many of us, we still wrestle with the concepts in Job, and wonder how God could have allowed such trial for the holiest man on earth. So far, the best answer I can come up with (and only with the help of others) is that God will be God. Hm.

